Shoebox Cafe Tuition & Childcare

Click here to edit subtitle

Need additional support at home? 

Private Tuition

Friendly, professional, passionate and dedicated
Current Rate: £26 per hour (Contact me for more details)

Key Subjects taught:
  • Maths (Primary and Secondary Levels)
  • English (Primary and Secondary Levels)
  • Piano (Beginners/Intermediate - Any age from 6+)

I am a fully qualified Primary School Teacher with a Bachelor in Education with Honours, trained in England with over 15 years experience. I have recently relocated back to my family home in Scotland, getting back to my Scottish roots! 

I have worked and taught in a variety of childcare settings and primary schools both in the UK and Internationally (Asia) for the past 12 years. Over the years I have offered private tuition to support pupils in need alongside my regular teaching jobs and thoroughly enjoyed planning daycare activities outside of the classroom! I enjoy both classroom and private one to one, small group teaching or childminding and have taught/cared for over 500 children in total. My favourite subjects are Art & Music. I have recently become a new mum and thoroughly enjoy learning every day with my son. Motherhood is simply amazing!

I attended Torquay Girls Grammar School, completing English, Art and Geography A levels. At the same time I completed grades in music for singing, piano, flute and clarinet. I also loved Drama club, cookery and textiles classes. I always knew I wanted to be a teacher, so I completed my BEd at Plymouth University. In my spare time now as an adult, I enjoy painting and writing or crafts for fun and I often publish my art here online. 

Key skills and responsibilities I have had during my career on top of classroom teaching so far have been; Literacy & Assessment Co-ordinator, IPC International Primary Curriculum Developer, Thinking Skills Trainer, Art Leader, PSHE Personal Social and Health Education leader, pastoral care and I've lead staff training and parent workshops in Reading, Writing, Maths and Art.
I adore my job which is why I dedicate myself to supporting students at home, outside of school hours. Sometimes, we just need a little bit more help and practice. 

Tuition information...
All the lessons I provide are tailored to your specific learning needs. I offer an initial assessment introduction lesson for every new student. During this lesson, we build a personal development plan for future lessons. If after this first lesson, you wish to continue, I then sell each student a block of lessons worth 10 hours of tuition, which is paid in full at the end of the first hour. This advanced payment secures your future booking slots and the commitment to continue. During all lessons, feedback is provided to ensure confidence and knowledge of how my students can achieve their goals. Please note, the 10 hour block must be completed within 12 weeks of the purchase date. This is to ensure continuity of learning progress. Best results are seen when a student has 1 to 2 hours a week. 
I understand that at times due to unforeseen circumstances, lessons may need to be cancelled/rearranged. I operate a 48 hour cancellation policy. If a student fails to cancel a booking 48 hours prior to our arranged date, they will still be charged at the full rate for the lesson missed. For more information on my Terms and Conditions, click here. 
Lessons are offered as one to one or small groups, maximum 4 students. For group lessons, please contact me for charges. Some parents find it financially easier to create a small group of students so each child can enjoy their extra support with their peers and at a shared rate (piano lessons one to one only). Please contact me for more information on group rates.
Lessons are at my home at a very reasonable and competitive rate of £26 an hour, no matter what the age/level which is below the National average which is currently £30 per hour. Additional charges apply should I be required to travel to your address (limited availability due to the needs of my own family). I have suitable space, resources and equipment. For piano lessons, I own and play on the new Yamaha Clavinova CLP 545 which is a fantastic electric piano. It plays and sounds like a Grand Piano with superb features providing a huge variety of sounds, recording and listening playback options.

If you would like to begin tuition with me, I very much look forward to hearing from you and helping you achieve your goals.

Please contact me here.